Pluto…the debate continues

PlutoSeems to us that ever since Pluto got reclassified as a dwarf planet he has become even more loved.  We have gotten lots of inquiries about whether or not Pluto will become a plush planet playmate.

We received this drawing from a young planet enthusiast who is quite adamant that Pluto should become a Celestial Buddy.  What do you think? 

Thanks for the drawing!

Happy Holidays!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pluto…the debate continues

  1. Sybille Wilson says:

    I think Pluto should be given the honor of being a celestial buddy. After all, when I was in school, we had to learn all nine planets. (plus, it is my 4-year oldgrandson Jack who made this drawing and everytime he plays planets, he always includes Pluto)

  2. Nicholette Klamm says:

    I think Pluto definitely deserves a spot in the Celestial Buddy Solar System! My son is the artist, and I want to thank you for posting his picture. He was so excited! He would love to have a Pluto to add to his other planets! Thank you! (And when I was teaching, we still included Pluto in our Solar System Displays- even though it was demoted!)

  3. Hannah Callen says:

    I absolutely believe that Pluto should join the crew. Ever since Pluto was discover he was part of our solar system and I think making him a Celestial Buddy would be a nice way of honoring him. 😉

  4. Michelle S. says:

    I agree, Pluto should be a Celestial Buddy. It’s sad that it’s been renamed to “dwarf planet”, when I was younger and in school we had to learn Pluto the same as the others. It would be a nice way to remember and honor it. Besides it’s still exist in our Solar System and since you’v e already made The Moon and The Sun why not make Pluto? It’s still a “Planet” just a slightly smaller one now. I think you should do it!! By the way, speaking as a lover of Science and a mother, these plushes are just about the most amazing things ever 🙂

    • I grew up with Pluto being part of the Solar System, so I have grown attached to the little bugger too. However, the planet itself isn’t much to look at and the NASA flyby isn’t until 2015! So I’m struggling with what the little guy should even look like!

      • Michelle S says:

        (Talk about not seeing a reply lol) I know, to me Pluto will always be a planet. I also agree with what Robb B said below, the Sun & Moon aren’t planets so that just adds to why you should make Pluto. Well, you could always wait till 2015 to release it and in the meantime maybe do some other projects like an asteroid or a comet (also stated below). I don’t know if I would do any more moons, even though they are part of our System, I can see you getting very bored with them, seriously how many moons does Jupiter have? LOL. You’d only do the biggest, most popular four. I think you should lean towards a more natural color, and cute…almost childlike since now it is the “baby” of the group. Just an idea

    • Thanks for your kind words, we are glad you like the characters we have so far!

  5. Robb B. says:

    Of course Pluto deserves a spot on the team! As has been pointed out, the Moon and Sun aren’t planets, so why not Pluto? Personally I think it would be rude to exclude him. Hasn’t he suffered enough? As for what he should he look like … I’d say his defining characteristic should be that he’s teensy. Like baseball sized, maybe. And, of course, he ought to be friendly! Personally, I also think you should consider more non-planetary bodies as well. Like Titan, Io and Europa. Maybe even Haley’s Comet! You keep making them, I’ll keep buying them! (Seriously, these things give The Missus and I no end of delight! Eagerly looking forward whoever comes next!)

  6. SJ says:

    I agree, Pluto should be included, as well as some of the more well noted moons (Io, Titan and Europa have been already mentioned), and why not an asteroid?
    My family has a few star ships that would love to fly by a few other celestial buddies!

  7. L says:

    My space-obsessed three and a half year old would love to see Pluto represented, and he would like to see the other dwarf planets as well! Ceres, Makemake, Eris, and Haumea are topics of conversation so often in our house- I know he would be thrilled to see what you could come up with! He is eagerly awaiting news about Venus, Uranus and Neptune! True story…. so am I!

  8. Michelle S. says:

    I was wondering if you ever came up with a decision whether or not to make Pluto?

Leave a Reply

